Poor Rich Kids

Lifestyle #12: Hanging Out With Your Parents

Posted in Lifestyle Advice by thepoors on May 12, 2009

35415119_97a850e548Back when you were cool and surly and all of 16 or 18 or even 20, hanging out with your parents was so lame. Mom and Pop would ask you if you wanted to go to dinner, catch up, talk about life, maybe even see a movie, and you’d be like, “I HAVE FRIENDS MOM AND DAD / I HAVE MY OWN FUCKING LIFE / STOP BOTHERING ME / YOU SUCK / I NEVER WANT TO SEE YOU EVER / KEEP PAYING FOR COLLEGE.”

But as a not-quite-grown-up, times have changed. These days, poor rich kids love nothing more than some good old-fashioned quality time with Mom and Dad.

“What’s that, Mom? You want to see The Soloist? It looks like a TERRIBLY CRAPPY movie, but I’d love to go.”

“Oh, you want to have dinner on Saturday night? Oh, sounds wonderful, I have a totally HOT DATE that I will cancel so we can dine at the Gramercy Tavern.”

Accept whatever generosity your parents bestow upon you. If they want to do your laundry, lend you their car, take you to fancy dinners, or go to a movie, DO IT. It beats sitting at home. Parents = new best friends.

We love you, Mom and Dad. Happy Mom and Pop’s Day.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tellie said, on May 25, 2009 at 7:37 am

    haha, I don’t know about all THAT. But now that I am older I regret not spending as much time with my parents as I could have. But it’s perfectly normal.

  2. sexycookie said, on October 12, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    funny


Leave a Reply

